People

Faculty & Principal Investigators Profiles

Matthew Balhoff

Matthew T. Balhoff, Professor, CPGE Director
balhoff@mail.utexas.edu
512-471-3246
Research Projects

Research Programs:
Fundamental Processes,
Reservoir Engineering

Paul Bommer

Paul Bommer, Senior Lecturer
pmbommer@mail.utexas.edu
512-471-1207
Research Projects

Research Programs:
Drilling, Well Completions, and Rock Mechanics,
Production Engineering

Hugh Daigle

Hugh Daigle, Associate Professor
daigle@mail.utexas.edu
512-471-1267
Research Projects

Research Programs:
Drilling, Well Completions, and Rock Mechanics,
Fundamental Processes,
Integrated Reservoir Characterization,
Unconventional Resources

Mojdeh Delshad

Mojdeh Delshad, Research Professor
delshad@mail.utexas.edu
512-471-3219
Research Projects

Research Programs:
Environmental Engineering,
Reservoir Engineering

David DiCarlo

David DiCarlo, Associate Professor
dicarlo@mail.utexas.edu
512-471-1283
Research Projects

Research Programs:
Environmental Engineering,
Fundamental Processes,
Production Engineering,
Reservoir Engineering

Nicolas Espinoza

Nicolas Espinoza, Associate Professor
espinoza@austin.utexas.edu
512-471-8280
Research Projects

Research Programs:
Drilling, Well Completions, and Rock Mechanics,
Fundamental Processes,
Unconventional Resources

John Foster

John Foster, Assistant Professor
jfoster@austin.utexas.edu
512-471-6972

Research Programs:
Drilling, Well Completions, and Rock Mechanics,
Fundamental Processes,

Natural Gas Engineering,
Unconventional Resources

Kenneth Gray

K. E. Gray, Professor
ken_gray@mail.utexas.edu
512-471-3242
Research Projects

Research Programs:
Drilling, Well Completions, and Rock Mechanics

Zoya Heidari

Zoya Heidari, Assistant Professor
zoya@utexas.edu
512-471-7218

Research Programs:
Petrophysics, Borehole Geophysics, Well Logging, Formation Evaluation, Rock Physics, Inverse Problems, Integrated reservoir characterization, Completion Petrophysics

Chun Huh

Chun Huh, Research Professor
chunhuh@mail.utexas.edu
512-471-3252
Research Projects

Research Programs:
Fundamental Processes,
Integrated Reservoir Characterization,
Nanoparticle Engineering for Subsurface Processes,
Reservoir Engineering,
Unconventional Resources

Larry Lake

Larry W. Lake, Professor

larry_lake@mail.utexas.edu
512-471-8233
Research Projects

Research Programs:
Fundamental Processes,
Integrated Reservoir Characterization,
Production Engineering,
Reservoir Engineering,
Unconventional Resources

Kishore Mohanty

Kishore K. Mohanty, Professor
mohanty@mail.utexas.edu
512-471-3077
Research projects

Research Programs:
Fundamental Processes,
Nanoparticle Engineering for Subsurface Processes,
Natural Gas Engineering,
Reservoir Engineering

Quoc Nguyen

Quoc P. Nguyen, Associate Professor
quoc_p_nguyen@mail.utexas.edu
512-471-1204
Research Projects

Research Programs:
Environmental Engineering,
Fundamental Processes,
Nanoparticle Engineering for Subsurface Processes,
Natural Gas Engineering,
Production Engineering,
Reservoir Engineering

Ryosuke Okuno

Ryosuke Okuno, Assistant Professor
okuno@utexas.edu
512-471-3250

Research Programs:
Fundamental Processes,
Reservoir Engineering,
Unconventional Resources

Hilary Olson

Hilary Clement Olson, Program Manager
Director of Education, Training and Outreach

holson@austin.utexas.edu
512-653-8356

Research Program:
Outreach

Jon Olson

Jon E. Olson, Chair of the Hildebrand Department of
Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering,
Professor

jolson@mail.utexas.edu
512-471-7375
Research Projects

Research Programs:
Drilling, Well Completions, and Rock Mechanics,
Integrated Reservoir Characterization,
Natural Gas Engineering,
Production Engineering,
Unconventional Resources

Gary Pope

Gary A. Pope, Professor
gpope@mail.utexas.edu
512-471-3235
Research Projects

Research Programs:
Environmental Engineering,
Natural Gas Engineering,
Reservoir Engineering

Masa Prodanovic

Masa Prodanovic, Associate Professor
masha@utexas.edu
512-471-0839
Research Projects

Research Programs:
Drilling, Well Completions, and Rock Mechanics,
Fundamental Processes,
Integrated Reservoir Characterization,
Nanoparticle Engineering for Subsurface Processes,
Unconventional Resources

Michael Pyrcz

Michael Pyrcz, Associate Professor
mpyrcz@austin.utexas.edu
512-471-3252

Research Programs:

Kamy Sepehrnoori

Kamy Sepehrnoori, Professor
kamys@mail.utexas.edu
512-471-0231
Research Projects

Research Programs:
Integrated Reservoir Characterization,
Natural Gas Engineering,
Reservoir Engineering,
Unconventional Resources

Mukul Sharma

Mukul M. Sharma, Professor
msharma@mail.utexas.edu
512-471-3257
Research Projects

Research Programs:
Drilling, Well Completions, and Rock Mechanics,
Integrated Reservoir Characterization,
Nanoparticle Engineering for Subsurface Processes,
Natural Gas Engineering,
Production Engineering,
Unconventional Resources

Wen Song

Wen Song, Assistant Professor
wensong@mail.utexas.edu
512-471-5789

Research Programs:
Enhanced Oil Recovery,
Geologic Carbon Storage,
Natural Gas Engineering,
Petrophysics and Pore Scale Processes,
Reservoir Engineering,
Reservoir Simulation,
Unconventional Resources

Mary Wheeler

Mary F. Wheeler, Professor
mfw@ices.utexas.edu
512-475-8626
Research Projects

Research Program:
Reservoir Engineering

Research & Technical Support Staff Directory

Gayan Abeykoon

Postdoctoral Fellow

abeykoon@utexas.edu

Francisco Arguelles Vivas

Postdoctoral Fellow

fjarvi@utexas.edu

Yanivo Brick

Postdoctoral Fellow

yaniv.brick@gmail.com

Joanna Castillo

Information Tech Coordinator 1

jlc@mail.utexas.edu

Xiongyu Chen

Postdoctoral Fellow

email

Yongcun Feng

Research Associate

email

Reza Ganjdanesh

Research Associate

ganjdanesh@utexas.edu

Tim Guinn

Senior Systems Administrator

guinn@mail.utexas.edu

Jongsoo Hwang

Postdoctoral Fellow

jongsooh@utexas.edu

Sung Hyun Jang

Postdoctoral Fellow

shjang@austin.utexas.edu

Ajeetha Kamilla

Sr. Software Dev/Analyst

ajeetha.kamilla@utexas.edu

Christopher Landry

Research Associate

christopher.landry@utexas.edu

Hunjoo P. Lee

Postdoctoral Fellow

hunjoo.lee@utexas.edu

Pathma J Liyanage

Research Engineer Associate

pjliyanage@mail.utexas.edu

Ripudaman Manchanda

Research Engineer Assistant

ripudaman@austin.utexas.edu

Chammi Miller

Research Associate

chammi.miller@utexas.edu

Daryl Nygaard

Scientific Instrument Maker

darylnygaard@austin.utexas.edu

Krishna K Panthi

Research Associate

kpanthi@mail.utexas.edu

Ameneh Rostami

Research Fellow

arostami@utexas.edu

Rodney Russell

Research Engineer Assistant

rod.russell@utexas.edu

Shayan Tavassoli

Research Associate

shayan.tavassoli@gmail.com

Mehdi Teymouri

Postdoctoral Fellow

teymouri@utexas.edu

Abdoljalil Varavei

Research Associate

varavei@utexas.edu

Haotian Wang

Postdoctoral Fellow

wanghaotian@utexas.edu

Chiyu Xie

Postdoctoral Fellow

chiyu.xie@utexas.edu

Wei Yu

Research Associate

yuwei127@gmail.com

Peixi Zhu

Research Associate

zpeixi@utexas.edu

Administrative Support Staff

Traci Laird, Executive Assistant

traci@utexas.edu

512-232-2933

Esther L. Barrientes, Administrative Manager (Pope)

elb@mail.utexas.edu

512-471-7234

Dori L. Coy, Administrative Associate (Olson)

dcoy@mail.utexas.edu

512-471-7697

Jin K. Lee, Administrative Associate (Sharma, Lake, Okuno)

jinie@mail.utexas.edu

512-471-9614

Barbara D. Messmore, Administrative Associate (Mohanty, CFSES)

barbmessmore@mail.utexas.edu

512-471-3096

Emilio J. Núñez, Assistant Director for Research Relations

enunez@mail.utexas.edu

512-471-2796

Gregory R. Siebers, Administrative Associate (Nguyen)

gsiebers@austin.utexas.edu

512-471-3236

Please see the PGE Department Staff Directory for a list of Academic support staff.